Borough reorganizes with new councilman, police and other appointments

Councilman Kevin P. Doran takes the oath of office for his first full term on the Borough Council from State Senator and North Bergen Mayor Nicholas J. Sacco as Mrs. Doran, (Melissa) holds the Bible. The Doran children are from left, Lyla (in red coat), Lainie and Jack. (Photo by Lynne Grasz Hall)

By Douglas E. Hall

The Borough Council reorganized for the new year on Jan. 7, swearing in Councilman Anthony Bartolomeo and Kevin P. Doran, each for a first full three-year term.  Councilman Vincent Monte was elected Council President.  Councilman Bartolomeo had been filling the unexpired term of Councilwoman Neda Rose, who retired and moved to North Carolina.  Councilman Doran had been filling the unexpired term of Mayor Delaney, who moved up to mayor after the death of the late Mayor Nancy Merse on March 10, 2011.

Mayor James Delaney also announced the appointments of two new police officers: “officers Konstantinas Savrides and Dan Massuda, two Edgewater born and raised residents to supplement our current 27 sworn officers.

“Ms. Savrides will be graduating from Rutgers University with a Masters Degree in Social Work, an invaluable degree to possess as a police officer.  Mr. Massuda has been an Edgewater professional for several years as a member of our volunteer fire department serving alongside his father Joe and a full time employee in our Public Works Department.  We welcome you and wish you a long and safe career as part of Edgewater’s finest.  These two hires represent the Mayor and Council’s commitment to the safety and protection of our residents,” Mayor Delaney said.

The following borough officials and agencies were also reappointed for 2013:  Engineering,  Neglia Engineering of Lyndhurst; borough planner, Kathryn Gregory; borough attorney, Philip Boggia; risk manager, David Vozza, bond counsel, William Mayer, auditor,  Steven Wielkotz;  electrical engineering, Applied Adaptive Solutions of West New York, grants consultant, Millennium Strategies of  West Caldwell,  Administrative Agent for Affordable Housing – Community Grants Planning and Housing of East Windsor.

Reappointed to the Planning Board were Councilman Bartolomeo, Iris Borman, Howie Levine, and Mike McPartland.  Newly appointed to the board is Robert Christiansen, who is a former Board of Adjust man chairman.

State Senator and North Bergen Mayor Nicholas J. Sacco administers the oath of office to Councilman Anthony Bartolomeo as his daughter Natasha holds the Bible as his wife, Barbara (in red jacket) looks on. (Photo by Lynne Grasz Hall)

Reappointed to the Board of Adjustment were Tom Ford, who for several years was a member of the Planning Board and Domenic Rea.  Reappointed to the Recreation Board were Chris Carluccio, and Mike Armstrong

Reappointed to the Housing Authority was Regina Oates.  Reappointed to the Rent Leveling Board were   Judy Wanger, Margo Taylor, Barbara Khal, and Joseph Criscuolo.  Named for another term on the Welfare Board Marie Christensen

Emma Kelly and Dr. Lorraine Cella, school superintendent, were reappointed to the Library Board.  Thomas Watson Green is a new appointment to that board.

Reappointed to the Cultural and Historical Committee were Chairman Douglas E.  Hall, Sheila Olaksen, James S. Trager, Susan Candee, Linda Farrell, LoriLee Harding, Joyce Bellfield and Ruth Paci.  Adrian Rodriguez was appointed as a new member to this committee.

Related posts:

  1. Council appoints new councilman
  2. Sandy Klein Seated as School Board Reorganizes
  3. Town leaders celebrate reelection
  4. Rose departure creates Council seat to fill

Speak Your Mind